Each year, the advisors of Washington DECA nominate one of their peers who has gone above and beyond in supporting Washington DECA and preparing students for area, state, and international competition. The Advisor of the Year is selected based on their commitment to professionalism in managing their chapter, preparing members for competition, encouraging members to apply for scholarships, and for contributing to the greater good of Washington DECA by being involved in an advisor leadership role.

Advisor of the Year Nomination Form PDF | Word  Please download this form, and nominate a DECA advisor for this year’s Advisor of the Year Award. Only DECA advisors may nominate a fellow advisor for this award.

Deadline. Nominations are due to Lori Hairston at Washington DECA on or before 5:00 p.m. January 23, 2018. Forms may be submitted via email to or via FAX at 206.492.2558.

2017 Advisor of the Year:                                                                                                                                                                                                                   
Greg McCormick, Business and Marketing Educator, Mark Morris High School in the Longview School District. Greg was selected as 2017 Advisor of the Year based on his outstanding leadership both to Washington DECA and to the teaching profession for more than 30 years. Greg currently serves as the Board Development Committee Chair in his second term on the Washington Board of Directors. He has been an Area Leader for 15 years and hosted 20 Area Conferences. Greg served on the Management Team for 4 years and has been an SCDC Event Manager for 25 years. Greg is a role model and mentor for new teachers and served as President Elect, President and Past President for the Washington Association. Congratulations to a most deserving hero, Greg McCormick!

Previous Advisors of the Year:
  Tim Crawley, Highline High School
2015  Ray McCabe, Hazen High School
2014  BJ Sherman, Skyline High School
2013  Stephanie Schirm, Richland High School
2012  Paul Glenovich, Woodinville High School
2011  Dennis Rockwood, Inglemoor High School
2010  Sherry Busby, Camas High School
2009  Lori Jacobs, Auburn High School
2008  Heidi Wilson, Kamiakin High School
2007  Mike Dwyer, Eisenhower High School
2006  Dave Eby, Olympia High School
2005  Ron Cooper, Bothell High School
2004  Doug Aubert, Auburn Riverside High School
2003  Lynn Carey, Clarkston High School
2002  Karen Timken, Arlington High School; Laura Jones, Pasco High School; Jim Burton, Auburn High School; Yetta Rouse, Lindbergh High School; and Rick Davis, Kelso High School


Each year, Washington DECA inducts an advisor, board member, or business supporter into the Hall of Fame. These inductees have made a lasting impact on the organization by giving years of service as well as volunteer and financial support. It is one of the highest honors to be part of this elite group of Washington DECA supporters.

Hall of Fame Nomination Form PDF | Word. Please download this form, and nominate our next Hall of Fame Award recipient!

Deadline. Nominations are due to Lori Hairston at Washington DECA on or before 5:00 p.m. March 22, 2018. Forms may be submitted via email to or via FAX at 206.492.2558.

2017 Hall of Fame Inductee                                                                                                                                                                                                                 
Rod Brooks has sixteen years of service for Washington DECA including; Chairman of the Washington DECA Board of Directors and the Executive Committee, Chair of the FLC Planning Committee. He has organized silent auctions and rallied his personal network of business associates to further their involvement in DECA.  Rod has twice served as the Chair of the Strategic Planning Committee, developing the 5-year plan for Washington DECA's activities and programs.  He is a financial contributor, a competitive judge, and mentor, both for students and the staff of Washington DECA.  Rod is also a liaison for his employer’s generous financial support of Washington DECA, while coordinating community leadership opportunities for state officers. He was also instrumental in the founding of the Eastlake HS DECA Chapter amid many obstacles.                                                                                                                                                                                          

Previous Hall of Fame Inductees:
2016  Kurt Imerman
2015  Dr. Gary Cohn and Diane Heath
2014  Maggie Wall
2013  Ron Cooper
2012  Sherry Busby
2011   George Way
2010  Yette Rouse                                                                                                           2009  Jim Pankiewicz
2008  Jim Burton
2007  Ed Price and Kim Villeneuve
2006  Kristin Crowe
2005  Don Bailey and Jim Greiger
2004  Pat Knowles; Judy West; Jerry Gribble; and Margaret Rosbach
2002  Patsy Ethridge-Neal
2000  Bill Crossman
1999  Ginger Anderson; Jerry Bender; Dennis Caplen; Bobbie Peterson; Fred Rexus; and Bill D. Syhlman
1998  Floyd Ashcroft; Jim Blue; Bob Leingang; Leroy McCartney; Jack Ray; and Dee Webster
1997  K. Otto Logan 


Students, please nominate someone from your chapter who has gone above and beyond to support your school, community, and DECA chapter. This is an individual who has personified the ideals of Washington DECA, and who has given their all to express those ideals. The Member of the Year will be recognized at the State Career Development Conference.

Member of the Year Nomination Form PDF Word  Please download this form, and nominate our next Member of the Year!

Deadline. Nominations are due to Danielle Tuason at Washington DECA on or before 5:00 p.m. January 23, 2018. Forms may be submitted via email to or via FAX at 206.492.2558.

2017 Member of the Year:
Xeindria Chandran from Cascade Senior High School is the 2016–2017 Member of the Year. Dedicated, passionate, a true role model are just a few words used to describe Xeindria. She is full committed to DECA, serves as a member of the chapter's executive board and has competed at the area and state levels. She will represent Washington DECA at the International Career Development Conference in the School Based Enterprise Event. In the words of her advisor Jodi Galli, "The pride that she has in her work is contagious, her attitude encourages those around her to work harder." In addition to DECA, Xeindria demonstrates leadership as a captain of the Cascade HS Girl's soccer team. Congratulations Xeindria! 


Washington DECA would not be the organization we are today without our amazing volunteers. Annually, we have more than 800 volunteers who contribute their time at our conferences as speakers, presenters, hosts, judges, facilitators, and mentors. We also have volunteers who assist with behind-the-scenes work that is required to get the conferences ready, including manual organization, sorting and coordinating scores and papers, and other nitty gritty (sometimes overwhelming) details that make the events what they are. 

Volunteer of the Year Nomination Form PDF | Word. Please use this form to submit your Volunteer of the Year nominee!

Deadline. TBD

2016 Volunteer of the Year:
Congratulations to Lucy Wasson, a DECA student member at King's High School, who brought increased awareness to Washington DECA through a consistent and meaningful social media presence, and Mary Daniels, Global Connections High School DECA mentor, who spent countless hours supporting Washington DECA student members to ensure success and to enhance their DECA Experience.

Previous Volunteers of the Year:
2017 Shan Zubair
2016 Lucy Wasson and Mary Daniels
2015  Brad Hackworth